Three novels by Steven Owad

“Menace pulses under the surface of Owad’s third . . . full of compellingly unpredictable characters.”
– Kirkus Reviews


“Brave the frigid air in Brother’s Keeper long enough to explore the noirish streets of Warsaw, Poland, and the windswept oilfields of northern Alberta.”
– Mystery Scene


“In a strong debut . . . the multiplicity of suspects and encounters with various colorful antagonists out of Elmore Leonard will keep you turning the pages.”
– Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine


Hard Currency

Warsaw, 1992. Three years have passed since the end of communism. For former democracy activist Julian Krol, there are no dragons left to slay. But new evils are taking root. Julian’s estranged sister Krystyna has been murdered, and to find her killer Julian will have to face the dark side of the new world order: a mushrooming drug trade, a feckless police force, rampant corruption. Poland might now be free, but for many communists-turned-capitalists, it’s a free-for-all.

Brother’s Keeper

For Vince Maguire, life as an American journalist in Warsaw is an easy glide—until the dark world of his estranged brother intrudes. Teddy’s in trouble, but is he victim or villain? Is he even alive? The answers are in the frozen oilfields of northern Canada—a new wild west where the normal rules of behavior don’t apply.


Somebody wants Behn McAvoy dead. Behn is sure of this because he has just had to drown a hit man in his favorite fishing hole. But who would want to kill an ageing hockey player from a minor-league team out in the boonies? Finding out who’s calling the shots would be easier to do if only the shots would stop coming.